Watershed-Based MS4 Pilot Permit Stakeholder Meeting

Los Ranchos Agri-Nature Center • March 28, 2012 • 8:30 a.m.-Noon

Summary of Agreements/Actions

The March 28, 2012 meeting was attended by 37 representatives of local federal, tribal, state, county, municipal, flood control authority, and private consulting agencies. Agenda items included:

- 1. Report from Sector Framework Work Group & Discussion
- 2. Report from Monitoring Work Group & Discussion

Discussion Points/Agreements/Actions

1) Re: Sector Framework Work Group Report & Discussion

At the February 2012 meeting, the group outlined the main points and principal benefits of three sector frameworks, respectively. (These are the "jurisdiction-based," "impact-based," and "compliance-based" frameworks.) A work group volunteered to work on resolving the differences between these approaches. Trevor Alsop from SSCAFCA presented the work group's proposal.

This proposal has two principal components: First, it is based on a "tamale" principle—every jurisdiction brings something to the "party," although every jurisdiction brings something different. Second, rather than "sectors," it proposes a matrix of physical, infrastructure, and administrative "characteristics" along one axis and all jurisdictions listed along the other axis. Adding up each jurisdiction's number of characteristics produces a more individualized picture of the respective levels of responsibility than the sector approach, which lumps jurisdictions into sets.

After some discussion, general agreement within the group included:

- a) <u>The matrix approach provides a more promising foundation for allocating responsibility under the permit than the sector approach</u>, and the group should continue to refine the matrix.
- b) The proposal identified the number of characteristics for each jurisdiction. Representatives will review and modify the number of characteristics, if necessary, and report any changes to Trevor.
- c) The work group will refine the number and description of characteristics, and begin work on assigning "weight" to certain characteristics.
- d) The matrix may help guide the formulation of the cost allocation algorithm (to be developed under the 604b grant to Ciudad SWCD), and, in turn, may be modified by the algorithm.
- e) Work group members include Trevor Alsop, Linda Seebach, Fred Marquez, Joe Quintana, Kevin Daggett, Wayne Wormwood, Chuck Thomas, Tim Trujillo, Molly Bloemhoefer and others who would like to help. Trevor will contact stakeholders with contact information.

2) Re: Monitoring Work Group & Discussion

At the February 2012 meeting, Nelly Smith from EPA presented a monitoring proposal. An ad hoc work group of stakeholders familiar with monitoring convened in March to respond to this proposal. Mary Murnane from Bernalillo County presented the group's proposal. However, before presenting the proposal, Mary asked Nelly Smith, who was participating by phone from Dallas, for clarification on the intent of her (Nelly's) proposal, and the parameters that the Albuquerque group is working within.

Following discussion—and with Nelly's assent—the highlights of the present monitoring proposal include:

- a) Monitoring will be based on representative sampling of streams and outfalls and strategic site selection to evaluate the effectiveness of stormwater BMPs, not on comprehensive sampling.
- b) Local jurisdictions will make local five-year monitoring plans that include identifying local monitoring sites and a schedule for rotating between sites.
- c) Since the 303d list of impaired waters, as well as the list of constituents, is still under consideration, not every outfall may be monitored for 303d listed constituents.
- d) <u>The monitoring plan in the Watershed-Based Permit will supersede present Phase 1 and upcoming</u> <u>Phase 2 permit requirements.</u>
- e) The stakeholder group needs to create a monitoring site map available to all stakeholders.
- f) Work group members include Mary Murnane, Kevin Daggett, Vern Hershberger, Sarah Holcomb, Trevor Alsop, Anita Steed, Steve Glass, and others who would like to help. Mary will contact people regarding a meeting date.

3) Additional Notes

- a) In her comments, Nelly expressed concern that the stakeholder group seems to ask for guidance from Dallas on components of the permit pilot, but then reacts negatively to the guidance offered. She emphasized that she and EPA Dallas are open to, and requesting, recommendations on all aspects of the pilot permit. However, it is important that recommendations from the Albuquerque group be submitted in a timely manner, as the schedule for issuing the permit calls for issuing the Fact Sheet and the draft by November 2012.
- b) The stakeholder group has a working agreement to finalize its recommendations on the matrix and the monitoring proposals by the April 2012 meeting.
- c) It was announced that the City of Albuquerque—at least, the Stormwater Management Section—is withdrawing from the Watershed-Based Permit stakeholder discussions, for the following reasons:
 - i) Albuquerque's responsibilities under the new Phase 1 permit require meeting strict deadlines, and, with severe staff shortages, discussing a new permit, which will not allow Albuquerque to make any changes to the present one, is not a good investment of time.
 - ii) The proposed monitoring plan (submitted by Nelly) adds more monitoring responsibility to Albuquerque.
 - iii) The City's presence seems to have become an impediment to the discussions, because several smaller jurisdictions are concerned that the new permit may inappropriately place Albuquerquelike requirements on them.

4) Next Meeting

a) The next meeting was scheduled for <u>Tuesday, April 24 from 1:00-4:30 p.m. at the Los Ranchos de</u> <u>Albuquerque Agri-Nature Center, 4920 Rio Grande Blvd. NW, Los Ranchos</u>.

Watershed-Based MS4 Permit Stakeholder Meeting March 28, 2012

Meeting Participants

Organization

Name Karen Agogino Trevor Alsop John Avila Molly Blumhoefer Ron Bohannan Michael Castillo Sarah Cobb **Kelly Collins** Kevin Daggett **Doug Dailey Rob Demeule** Jay Lee Evans Melvin Garcia Steve Glass Vern Hershberger Sarah Holcomb Carolyn Holloway Tim Karpoff Louise Marguez Joe McGinn **Travis Miller** Mary Murnane **Xavier Pettes** Joe Quintana Chip Roma Flaviano Sanchez Linda Seebach Chris Segura **Nelly Smith Timothy Smith** Anita Steed Cyndie Tidwell Chuck Thomas **Tim Trujillo** Bart Van den Plas Judith Wong Wayne Wormhood

DOE/SNL SSCAFCA Village of Corrales UNM TWCCC **ESCAFCA** Sen. Udall's Office CDM AMAFCA URS NMDOT/HZI **CoA Parks & Recreation** Village of Tijeras Ciudad SWCD/ABCWUA UNM NMED SWQB DOE Karpoff & Associates Village of Tijeras Pueblo of Santa Ana UNM **Bernalillo County** City of Rio Rancho MRCOG Sandia Labs Village of Tijeras Village of Los Ranchos **Kirtland AFB EPA Region VI** Pueblo of Sandia **Bernalillo County** Village of Corrales SSCAFCA NMDOT-Drainage Pueblo of Santa Ana CoA Parks & Recreation Town of Bernalillo

E-mail kagogino@doeal.gov talsop@sscafca.com javila@corrales-nm.org mb6@unm.edu vrb@tierrawestllc.com mcastillo@escafca.com collinska@cdm.com kdaggett@amafca.org ddailey@urscorp.com rbdemeule@huitt-zollars.com ilerr@q.com Melvin@villageoftijeras.com jstvglass@gmail.com hershber@unm.edu sarah.holcomb@state.nm.us Carolyn.holloway@nnsa.doe.gov timkarpoff@msn.com Imarguez@villageoftijeras.com Joseph.mcginn@santaana-nsn.gov travmill@unm.edu mmurnane@bernco.gov xpettes@ci.rio-rancho.nm.us jlquintana@mrcog-nm.gov cmroma@sandia.gov fsanchez@villageoftijeras.com llseebach@losranchosnm.gov christopher.segura@kirtland.af.mil nelly.smith@epa.gov

asteed@bernco.gov

ctidwell@corrales-nm.org <u>cthomas@sscafca.com</u> timothyr.trujillo@state.nm.us bart.vandenplas@santaana-nsn.gov jwong@cabq.gov wwormhood@townofbernalillo.org